Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us




The Academy initiated Ten Professorial Chairs including the present scheme of INSA Research Professorships and Platinum Jubilee Chair. With effect from January 1, 2018, they are renamed as INSA Distinguished Professors and the terms and conditions are suitably modified. Each Professor shall be attached to some recognized research institution / Universities in India.


The Professorship is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to any branch of Science & Technology falling within the purview of the Academy. The main aim of the Professorship is to provide recognition to a person who has made outstanding scientific research contributions and to enable him/ her to continue to contribute to the subject of his/her choice. The INSA Distinguished Professors may continue to work in his/her own institution or in any other suitable institution within India.



Only superannuated Indian Fellows of INSA with no other source of support (except pension) will be eligible.

The upper age limit to apply for INSA Distinguished Professors is 75 years.

Fellows having any position with Honorarium/Fellowship/ Salary will not be eligible.



There will be a total of 10 Professorial Chairs.



The Professorship chairs are tenable for three years only.



The Professorship shall carry an honorarium of Rs.1.00 lakh per month. In addition, a sum of Rs.2.00 lakhs per annum will be provided as contingency. The contingency grant can be utilized for purchase of any equipment/s required for research, Computer/Laptop, Printer, Scanner, Camera, secretarial assistance, stationery, communication, travel for work (within India and abroad), registration fee, per diem, accommodation etc. as per the norms of the host institute. Items purchased out of the contingency grant will be the property of host institute after completion of project of Professorship chairs.

In case INSA Distinguished Professors wants to retain any of the above items purchased under contingency head he/she may pay 10% of the actual cost of the item to the host institute provided the items are purchased minimum two years before the completion of the tenure of the programme.

The institution concerned shall provide the working facilities to INSA Distinguished Professors. The funds will be drawn by the institution from INSA.



60 days in a year with honorarium whether in India or abroad.


Announcement of the Professorship:

The President will present the name/s of the scientist/s, selected with the help of a Committee constituted for the purpose, for approval of the Council. The name/s of the awardee/s will be announced in the subsequent General Body Meeting. The award offer will remain valid for one year from the date on which the offer is made by the Academy.


The intellectual property rights arising out of the work of the Awardee will be governed by the norms of the host institution.
Support for the INSA Distinguished Professorship should be acknowledged in all publications.
The INSA Distinguished Professors shall present to the Academy a yearly detailed report of the work done at the end of the year along with statement of expenditure for release of grant for next year.
He/She shall, after the expiry of the Professorship, also present a comprehensive report in the form of a review article for publication in Academy’s Proceedings.
He/She may also be invited to deliver a talk during one of the INSA meetings after completion of his/her tenure as INSA Research Professor.
All the INSA Distinguished Professors are expected to participate in outreach programmes for school and college students as a part of the award.

These regulations may be revised or amended by the Council of INSA at any time.


       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions New Website under constrution
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre