LEADSLEADS-2024Brochure: LEADS-2024LEADS 2023AlumniTestimonialContact Us

About LEADS:
The Leadership Development Programme in Science and Technology (LEADS) is designed for individuals working in the field of science and technology in various laboratories. It is a first-of-its-kind joint initiative of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), and the National Centre for Good Governance (NCGG) for the scientific fraternity. 
The program aimed to prepare scientists for leadership positions and challenges in the Indian Science ecosystem. Eminent speakers, scientists, and academic and industry leaders from across the country will share their views about the leadership roles, challenges, opportunities, and best practices and guide the future science leaders of the country. The programme’s main objective is to expose future science & technology leaders to different aspects of administration. This training is an effort to generate an enabling environment for the trade practitioners to perform and flourish and take their respective organisations to greater heights of performance.
The programme is designed for the mid-career scientists of age group 40–50 years and enables them to assume leadership roles in future in the field of Science and Technology. It is open to scientists with promising research/administrative credentials from various scientific institutions like DST, DBT, CSIR, ICMR, DAE, DRDO, ICAR, and other academic and research institutions.          

LEADS 2024
INSA is conducting the second batch of INSA-NCGG LEADS 2024 from 01st – 07th April 2024. The aim of LEADS 2024 is to build the capacity of participants and prepare them for the challenges faced at leadership positions. The course focuses on the following areas:

Scientific leadership
Financial Management
Accounting & Audit
Legal matters
Parliamentary  Affairs
Right To Information (RTI) Matters, etc.

Sponsoring laboratories, institutions, and departments will be responsible for covering the travel costs of their participants, while the organizers will cover all other expenses such as boarding, lodging, and local transport. INSA will provide classroom facilities and will also be responsible for covering the costs related to the resource persons, including their travel, lodging, local transport, and honorarium.

The first batch of LEADS programme was jointly organised by INSA and NCGG in the year 2023, conceptualized by the President of INSA Prof. Ashutosh Sharma and the then Director General of the National Centre for Good Governance (NCGG) Sh. Bharat Lal.  It was a first-of-its-kind initiative for the scientific fraternity and was organised from 12 to 18 July, 2023 at INSA, New Delhi. It was a 7 days fully residential programme.
After a rigorous selection process, a total of forty-four (44) participants were selected from various labs and institutions. These participants, comprised of senior scientists from government laboratories and academic institutions engaged in cutting-edge technology development across diverse domains, brought with them substantial administration experience.
Distinguished speakers, scientists, and leaders from academia and industry across the country also graced the event, adding significant value to the program. The success of the first batch of LEADS was evident, as it effectively achieved its objectives of nurturing future leaders within the scientific community. Encouraged by the positive feedback received, we are excited to announce the upcoming second batch of the LEADS program. This second batch is scheduled to be held from 19th to 25th February 2024. We anticipate another successful event, building on the achievements of the inaugural batch and further contributing to the development of leadership within the scientific community.
Please click here to access the LEADS-2023 report for your reference:

Report LEADS 2023

Dr Abhishek Chakraborty
NRSC, ISRO, Hyderabad
Dr Ajay S Desai
Dr Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Agriculture University, Maharashtra
Dr Akshay Dvivedi
IIT, Roorkee
Dr Alka Rao
CSIR-IMTECH, Chandigarh
Prof Amit Agrawal
IIT, Bombay
Dr Anjali Sharma
CSIR-NPL, New Delhi
Dr Chandana Sairam
DLRL, Hyderabad
Dr Chandra Sekhar Sharma
IIT, Hyderabad
Prof Deepankar Choudhury
IIT, Bombay
Dr Dhiraj Vyas
IIIM, Jammu
Dr Harsha Hegde
ICMR, NITM, Belagavi
Dr Ipsita Roy
NIPER, S.A.S. Nagar, Mohali
Dr Jayasri Das Sarma
IISER, Kolkata
Dr Jitender Madan
NIPER, Hyderabad
Prof Kana M Sureshan
IISER, Thiruvananthapuram
Prof Mahesh Hariharan
IISER, Thiruvananthapuram
Dr Manish Tiwari
Dr Mukesh Jewariya
CSIR, NPL, New Delhi
Prof Naveen Kumar Navani
IIT, Roorkee
Dr Pallab Bhattacharya
NIPER, Ahmedabad
Dr Pallavi Kushwaha
CSIR, NPL, New Delhi
Dr Pallavi Kushwaha
CSIR, NPL, New Delhi
Dr Poonam Arora
CSIR, NPL, New Delhi
Dr Pradyumna Kumar Mishra
Dr Premshankar Kedarnath Dubey
CSIR, NPL, New Delhi
Dr Radhakrishna Vatedka
ISRO, Bengaluru
Dr Ramakrishnan Parthasarathi
CSIR, IITR, Lucknow
Dr Rajiv Rajan
NIPER, Hajipur
Dr Rishi Kumar Sharma
Dr Ruchi Singh
ICMR, NIP, New Delhi
Dr Ruchika Gupta
Dr Saritha Nair
ICMR, NIMS, New Delhi
Dr Shamik Sen
IIT, Bombay
Dr Sharada Prasanna Swain
NIPER, Kolkata
Dr S R Marigoudar
NCCR, MoES, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
Dr Shiv Govind Singh
IIT, Hyderabad
Dr Subramani k
ISRO, Bengaluru
Dr Subramanian Natesan
NIPER, Kolkata
Dr Suresh Babu S
ISRO, Bengaluru
Dr Umesh Kumar Tiwari
CSIR, CSIO, Chandigarh
Prof Vimal Chandra Srivastava
IIT, Roorkee
Dr Vijay Chaudhry
Dr Vipan Kumar Parihar
NIPER, Hajipur
Dr Vivek Polshettiwar
TIFER, Mumbai