President Message
Ashutosh Sharma (2023-)

Happy New Year 2023

INSA Activities
INSA Journals
Past Presidents
Social Media
Cover for Indian National Science Academy -INSA
Indian National Science Academy -INSA

Indian National Science Academy -INSA

The INSA was established in January 1935 with the objective of promoting science in India.

If you plan to organise a programme related to the theme of Basic Sciences for Sustainable development, you can give it international exposure by getting it in the calendar of the committee on International Year of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development. Indian National Science Academy is the nodal agency for India and you may write to INSA as well as visit the website of IYBSSD, fill up the form and mail to them. If the activity is approved, it will be listed by them and that gives it excellent projection. IYBSSD gives it good publicity. The committee meets frequently (the last meeting being on March 9, 2023) ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Initiative of IIT Hyderabad about G20/ S20.INSA is an active partner and many of its Fellows, INYAS members and awardees are involved in aspects of S20. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
#insaindia We are sad to report the demise of a famous biochemist, teacher and senior INSA Fellow Prof. Ramesh Chandra Sachar on March 4, 2023. Prof. Sachar, born on Aug. 1929 in Hafizabad (now in Pakistan) obtained his doctoral degree in 1957 from the University of Delhi. He worked as Biochemist, Division of Biochemistry, India Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi (1968-78) and also as Professor, Department of Botany, University of Delhi (1978).Prof. Sachar contributed to our understanding of molecular mechanisms in the control of gene expression at the post-transcriptional and post-translational level by phytohormones in higher plants. He was the first to demonstrate that, in wheat, GA3 promoted active translation of poly(A) polymerase from its stored mRNA and this in turn increased the levels of poly(A)+ RNA. The stimulatory effect of GA3 could be counteracted by ABA. Furthermore, he observed repression of poly(A)+ RNA. The stimulatory effect of GA3 could be counteracted by ABA. He also reported the repression of poly(A) polymerase activity with a concomitant decrease in the levels of poly(A)+ RNA in fungal infected wheat embryos and auxin-treated pea epicotyls. At the post-translational level, GA3 treatment to wheat half-seeds was shown to activate monophenolase and alter its molecular properties through a change in the conformation of the enzyme. A GA3-binding protein was purified and this hormone-protein complex was found to bind to acid phosphatase and concomitantly bring about enzyme activation. His pioneering work on the selective phosphorylation of the small subunit of RuBPCase in spinach and moss has unraveled the significance of phosphorylation in the assembly of large and small subunits into holoenzyme. His group has also been the first to report phosphorylation at tyrosine residues during autophosphorylation of wheat protein kinase. Professor Sachar took keen interest in plant science also and served as Life Member of the International Society of Plant Morphologists and Society of Biological Chemists. INSA family deeply mourns the loss and conveys heart-felt condolences to the grief-struck family. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Jawaharlal Nehru University organized its 6th Convocation today at AICTE India. The Convocation was graced by President Smt. Droupadi Murmu & Union Education Minister Shri Dharmendra Pradhan. Prof Ajay K Sood, PSA to the Government of India was invited as the Special Guest."The world today is looking at India with admiration and expectations that we will contribute to solving global issues. I urge you to push the frontiers of knowledge and translate this knowledge towards societal development." - Prof Ajay K Sood, PSA to the Government of IndiaDharmendra Pradhan All India Council for Technical Education Ministry of Education ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Related Links
Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support